ESA BIC Startups

Reutlingen-based LuxFlux GmbH and vaireco GmbH from Constance are the first startups of ESA BIC's Reutlingen and Friedrichshafen / Immenstaad sites in Baden-Württemberg. Only one month passed between the submission at the deadline and the signing of the contract for the admission to an ESA BIC site.

The two LuxFlux founders Marc Henzler and Dr. Jan Makowski (from left to right) analyse the fine dust particles in our cities from space. The Copernicus Atmosphere Monitoring System (CAMS) in combination with ESA's Sentinel satellites is used for this purpose. The aim is that particulate pollution can be determined not only at the measuring points on the ground, but at any location. "For Baden-Württemberg in particular, our fine dust map will provide added value. This is what makes comprehensive coverage possible in the first place," said the two company founders, Dr. Jan Makowski and Marc Henzler.

Dr. Wolfgang Herbst, co-founder of vaireco, briefly presented his company project at the ESA BIC kick-off. Heat loss in large buildings or faults in photovoltaic systems will be recorded much more efficiently in the future. With the support of Airbus Defence and Space from ESA BIC in Friedrichshafen / Immenstaad, the Startup vaireco will develop an innovative inspection system for this purpose. The company is relying on a new generation of thermal imaging cameras and drone technology as well as precise localization via satellite navigation. "In addition to significantly reducing inspection costs, this will also enable large-scale analyses that were previously unthinkable," says company founder Dr. Wolfgang Herbst. Source: Niethammer
 

Angela Warnecke, co-founder of ARtist UG (limited liability), was selected and accepted at the second Tender Evaluation Board Meeting on 14 June 2018. The young company is now developing a smart tool at ESA BIC's Reutlingen site. With this tool, artists can create Augmented Reality (AR) artworks.  source: weaver

 

The startup Troodle Mobility Solution GmbH of founder Bernd Sailer was also included in the second Tender Evaluation Board at the Reutlingen site. "Low cost ride sharing in real time" is the declared goal of the founder, who wants to establish a reliable and ecological mobility solution together with local authorities. Source: weaver

 

At the third Tender Evaluation Board on 8 November 2018, the start-up VCSwipe (limited liability) was accepted. VC stands for Venture Capital and already indicates what the two founders Lukas Kmoth and Adrian Pirija have in mind. Their mobile financing platform aims to facilitate cooperation between investors and start-ups.

ESA BIC Unternehmen

Die Reutlinger LuxFlux GmbH und vaireco GmbH aus Konstanz sind die ersten Startups der beiden Standorten Reutlingen und Friedrichshafen / Immenstaad des ESA BIC in Baden-Württemberg. Zwischen Abgabe am Stichtag und Vertragsunterzeichnung zur Aufnahme an einem ESA BIC Standort verging bei beiden Startups nur ein knapper Monat.

Die beiden LuxFlux-Gründer Marc Henzler und  Dr. Jan Makowski (v.l.n.r.) analysieren den Feinstaub in unseren Städten vom All aus. Das Copernicus Atmosphere Monitoring System (CAMS) in Kombination mit den Sentinel-Satelliten der ESA kommt dafür zum Einsatz. Ziel ist, dass die Feinstaubbelastung nicht nur an den Messstellen am Boden sondern an jedem beliebigen Ort bestimmt werden kann. „Gerade für Baden-Württemberg wird unsere Feinstaubkarte einen Mehrwert liefern. Eine flächendeckende Abdeckung wird so erst möglich“, so die beiden Firmengründer Dr. Jan Makowski und Marc Henzler.

Dr. Wolfgang Herbst, Co-Gründer von vaireco, stellte beim ESA BIC Auftakt sein Unternehmensprojekt kurz vor. Wärmeverluste bei großen Gebäuden oder Fehler in Photovoltaik-Anlagen werden zukünftig wesentlich effizienter erfasst werden. Mit Unterstützung durch Airbus Defence and Space vom ESA BIC in Friedrichshafen / Immenstaad wird das Startup vaireco ein neuartiges Inspektionssystem dafür entwickeln. Dabei setzt das Unternehmen auf eine neue Generation von Wärmebildkameras und Drohnentechnik sowie die punktgenaue Lokalisierung via Satellitennavigation. „Neben einer deutlichen Reduktion des Inspektionsaufwandes, ermöglicht dies auch großflächige Analysen, die bisher nicht denkbar waren.“, so Firmengründer Dr. Wolfgang Herbst. Quelle: Niethammer
 

Angela Warnecke, Co-Gründerin von ARtist UG (haftungsbeschränkt), wurde beim zweiten Tender Evaluation Board Meeting am 14. Juni 2018 ausgewählt und anschließend aufgenommen. Am ESA BIC Standort Reutlingen entwickelt das junge Unternehmen nun ein smartes Tool. Mit diesem Werkzeug können Künstler Augmented Reality (AR) Kunstwerke kreieren.  Quelle: Weber

 

Auch das Startup Troodle Mobility Solution GmbH von Gründer Bernd Sailer wurde beim zweiten Tender Evaluation Board am Standort Reutlingen aufgenommen. "Low cost ride sharing in real time!" ist das erklärte Ziel des Gründers, der gemeinsam mit Kommunen eine verlässliche und ökologische Mobilitätslösung etablieren möchte. Quelle: Weber

 

Beim dritten Tender Evaluation Board am 08. November 2018 wurde das Start-up VCSwipe (haftungsbeschränkt) aufgenommen. VC steht dabei für Venture Capital und deutet bereits an, was die beiden Gründer Lukas Kmoth und Adrian Pirija vorhaben. Ihre mobile Plattform im Bereich Finanzierung zielt auf die Vereinfachung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Investoren und Startups.